D is for Distractions!

D is for Distractions!!

distractions

One of the things I struggle with is getting Distracted.

Sometimes it doesn’t take much to distract me.

Like earlier today when I was working on a project at work.

 I needed to find a picture on the computer and the next thing I knew I was scrolling through the pictures of my grandchildren.

I can look at their pictures for hours especially when I haven’t seen them in a while.   The next thing I knew 30 minutes had passed 😦 .

Getting distracted doesn’t just happen at work.

When I am at home I can start one thing like putting the laundry away and the next thing I know I am cleaning out the closet.

The one area I get distracted in and is the one that frustrates me the most is in my quiet time.

 I like to read my Bible, do daily devotions, study God’s word and spend time in prayer.  Now I find that if it is not totally quiet  without music or soft lighting I am unable to concentrate, remember what I have been reading or even give my total being to the Lord in praise and prayer.

So I decided that I needed to do something to keep my distractions at a minimum.

I found this poster and was excited to see so many solutions that really work for me.

Help with Distraction

1.  Keeping a To Do List and Prioritizing It

2.  Turn off the computer in the evening to allow quality time with my hubby, friends, and activities.

3.  Setting the alarm and scheduling an hour of quiet time where the TV is off, Ron is still sleeping ~ setting the stage for what I need.

4. Finishing one project at a time.  I have so many unfinished projects from crafts to writing to household obligations to redecorating parts of the motor home that I  have made a list of  all of them, choosing one, doing it and then choosing the next one to do.

5.  Meal planning – this helps in a couple of ways.  We eat healthier and we don’t go out to eat which saves us money 🙂

Do you get distracted?  How do you stop distractions from taking you away from the things you need to do?

 



One response to “D is for Distractions!”

  1. I can see I’m going to enjoy this new blog of yours….. and yes I am a member of the distraction club. I like your suggestions.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

About Me

Daughter of the King. Wife of almost 48 years. Mom to two: Jamie & Brandon. Mom-in-love to two Suzanne and Danalyn. Grammy to five: Max, Opal, Christopher, Treyson and Alexander with bonus Granddaughter Malarie.

Crocheter, writer, reader and people lover.

Newsletter